• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

I need to lose a little bit of weight but my meds are effecting my metabolism

dilated_pupils

Bluelighter
OK - basically this all started approx. 2 yrs ago. I went to detox for opiates, went on seroquel and suboxone right away. Within 1 month I gained 25 pounds.

Weight before detox: ~120 pounds
Weight after 1 month on meds: ~145 pounds

I figured it was the seroquel so I immediately stopped taking it after the first month hoping my metabolism would go back to normal. My whole life I've eaten whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted, and could not gain a pound.

In fact when I started lifting/working out 6 days a week, 2hrs each day, I had to take weight gainer - was taking up to 8000+ calories a day with still no success in gaining any weight.

Now, it's been 2 years and I've changed a bunch of different meds, and I'm finally down to the right ones. Only med I'm still on from detox days is suboxone, so I kind of feel like that may be the thing messing with me, what do you guys think?

Other than that, I'm on lamictal (for bipolar), klonopin (I know that's not it because I've been on benzos for 7+ yrs now), and adderall (we all know adderall would do the opposite of make me gain weight, not to mention I don't take it every day, it's more like as needed for me).

So what do you all recommend I do? I used to have a six pack, and now I have a little bit of blubber on my stomach/love handles. I've never pictured myself like this... and the weirdest part is, is that I only gain the weight in the stomach/love handle areas, my legs are still pure muscle, my arms are skinny from lack of lifting but not fat at all... I don't get it!